Be sure to visit the Newsletter section of MPP Brian Saunderson's website - Click here to read them!

New Tecumseth 2023 Senior of the Year

Patricia Middlebrook – New Tecumseth Senior of the Year with Simcoe-Grey MPP Brian Saunderson

VIDEO: On behalf of Premier Ford, the Province of Ontario and the people of Simcoe-Grey, I’d like to congratulate Patricia Middlebrook on being recognized as the 2023 New Tecumseth Senior of the Year. It was a real pleasure to meet Patricia at my Alliston office to present her with a certificate from the Province to celebrate her award.

Volunteering comes naturally to Patricia. “This is something my mother taught me. She volunteered all of her life. She lived to be 101 years of age. I think if she was still alive she would be volunteering.”

MPP Brian Saunderson said volunteers are the glue that keep society moving forward. “You look at volunteers in youth sports, to service clubs, to helping patients get to meetings and medical appointments and food banks, these are the people who really give meaning to the community.”

The Senior of the Year Award is presented to a New Tecumseth senior resident (aged 65-plus) who has contributed service of significant impact to one or more of:

  • The arts
  • Literature
  • Community service
  • Voluntarism
  • Education
  • Fitness and sport
  • Humanitarian activities

Previous winners of the Senior of the Alliston/New Tecumseth Year Award:

  • 2023 – Patricia M. Middlebrook
  • 2022 – Linda Beckstead
  • 2021 – Larry Keogh
  • 2020 – Sherryl Edith Jackson
  • 2019 – Sharron Smith
  • 2018 – Liz Brown
  • 2017 – Lyn Smith
  • 2016 – Paul Facciol
  • 2015 – Hart Holmstrom
  • 2014 – Harvey Hart
  • 2013 – Russel Renshaw
  • 2012 – N. Leslie Cook
  • 2011 – Joyce Cave
  • 2010 – Helen Williamson
  • 2009 – Joan Jebb
  • 2008 – Douglas Horsburgh, Ann Simister, Betty Beaven, Jacqueline Baillie
  • 2007 – Alice Forstell